The Church of Greece

The Church of Greece is one of the fifteen autocephalous Churches that make up the Orthodox Church.
Ranked eleventh in the order of embassies of the Churches. Its administrative form is a combination of the Metropolitan and Patriarchal systems in reference to the old apostolic way of administration with the head of the Synod of Hierarchs and honorary president of the Synod, the Archbishop of Athens and all Greece.
For the Greek state, it is a legal entity under public law. It is recognized by the Greek Constitution as the dominant religion of Greece. It is in communion with the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople and its other Orthodox Churches.

Church of Greece

Find more about the Church of Greece

The Archbishop

His Beatitude Archbishop of Athens and All Greece Hieronymus II (real name Ioannis Liapis) is the 20th Primate of the Church of Greece since the declaration of
its autocephaly.

Holy Synod

The Holy Synod is the highest ecclesiastical governing body for the autocephalous Orthodox churches. It is chaired by the regional superior and consists of all bishops who are regular members.

Holy Metropoles

The Church of Greece includes more than 80 metropolitans that cover the Greek area, apart from the island of Crete and the Dodecanese. Follow the link to see the full list and read more.

Skip to content