The Archbishop

His Beatitude Archbishop of Athens and All Greece Hieronymus II (real name Ioannis Liapis) is the 20th Primate of the Church of Greece since the declaration of its autocephaly.
He was born in Oinophyta, Boeotia in 1938. He is a graduate of the School of Philosophy (Department of Archeology) and the School of Theology of the University of Athens and was a scholar of the I.K.Y. (1st on a nationwide scale) in Byzantine studies. He served as Chancellor of the Holy Metropolis of Thebes & Levadeia (1967-1978), as Abbot of the Holy Transfiguration Monasteries of Sotiros Sagamata (1971-1977) and of Saint Loukas (1977-1981), as Secretary and then Chief Secretary of the Holy Synod of the Church of Greece (1978-1981).
In 1981 he was unanimously elected Metropolitan of Thebes & Levadea and on February 7, 2008 he was elected Archbishop of Athens and all Greece. With his tireless care and interest, six male Holy Monasteries (total of 45 Nuns) and seventeen female Holy Monasteries (total of 110 Nuns) were restored, manned and functioning. Among these Monasteries are the historic Monasteries of Saint Luke, Sagamata, Saint Seraphim, Makariotissa, Evangelistria, and Jerusalem.


A token of Love

Archbishop of Athens and all Greece


Church of Greece

Find more about the Church of Greece

Church of Greece

The Church of Greece is one of the fifteen autocephalous Churches that make up the Orthodox Church. For the Greek state, it is a legal entity under public law.

Holy Synod

The Holy Synod is the highest ecclesiastical governing body for the autocephalous Orthodox churches. It is chaired by the regional superior and consists of all bishops who are regular members.

Holy Metropoles

The Church of Greece includes more than 80 metropolitans that cover the Greek area, apart from the island of Crete and the Dodecanese. Follow the link to see the full list and read more.

Skip to content